playlist: girl power

I was reading Rookie the other day (who am I kidding, I read Rookie EVERY day) and came across Tavi’s letter for this month, the theme for which is “power”. I decided to make myself a wee playlist with “power” in mind, specifically girl power of the Spice Girls variety. Usually when I think about girl power music I think about Bikini Kill and Fiona Apple and Sleater-Kinney, but for this playlist I went for something a little different. These are the well-known songs by well-known artists which I feel best represent girl power. Enjoy!

Marry The Night – Lady Gaga
Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) – Kate Bush
Dancing On My Own – Robyn
Dreams – Fleetwood Mac
Bad Girls - M.I.A.
One Way Or Another – BlondieĀ 
Sex Yeah – Marina and the DiamondsĀ 
*Electra Heart is awesome. This song is particularly good in my opinion, the lyrics are quite scathing.
212 – Azealia Banks
*I put this on every playlist but w/e.

Leave a Reply

