my 10 favourite lipsticks

rs_600x600-160429122146-emoji-dictionarythumb_v4

Good jaysus it’s been a minute since I wrote something on this blog. January 18, 2014! Anyway I won’t spend too much time ruminating on the vagaries of time, because I know what you’re really here for: Lipsticks.

I was inspired to write this partly by Bethany Rutter (whose blog and general internet presence I adore) and partly by my own voracious appetite for these kinds of posts. It was actually quite hard to pick ten as I don’t wear much of my lipstick collection as often as I should, generally because I try less and less these days. Sad fact of growing up.

However. I still love lipstick. I have many. And here are my favourites, some with pics of me wearing them and some not. So if you were hoping to see ten pictures of my face, SORRY.

Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution in Bond Girl

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.47.43

This is my ‘my lips but better’ lipstick, and the one I’m most likely to be wearing on any given day. It’s matte, but creamy and comfortable and easy to apply. And that gold packaging! I feel so fancy whenever I take it out. At €32, these lipsticks are expensive, but I’ll definitely repurchase this one.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 01 Always Red

c4kcfijwqaalber

If you asked me like two years ago what my favourite red lipstick was, I would have said MAC Ruby Woo no question. However, I am totally in love with this liquid lip from Sephora – Ruby Woo can be such a bitch to apply, and this just glides on, makes my skin look luminous, clears up my acne, fills up my bank account, etc. So good.

Kylie Lip Kit in 22

22_lip-kit

I wasn’t too bothered about Kylie Cosmetics until I saw 22 (which is probably one of the least hyped shades, LOL), an orangey-red that just looked SO pretty. Again, I think this makes my skin look class, for some reason. I am not 100% a fan of the formula of these guys, but I’m willing to overlook a little crumbliness in favour of the colour.

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Double Dare

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.48.31

Every time, EVERY TIME I see a picture of myself and go, “Ooh, what lipstick was I wearing that day? It’s nice” it was Double Dare. And it’s not even a particularly remarkable shade, just a very good pinky brown in one of the best liquid lip formulas around.

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Bacca

71ip5loue1l-_sy679_

I got this after seeing it on Bethany (mentioned above) and it’s the berry-wine shade of my dreams. I find it so hard to get that right, cos sometimes it makes my lips look very thin? But this is lush and rich-looking and so nice to wear.

MAC Diva

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.58.44.png

Aw, remember when we all thought MAC was the be all and end all of lipstick? Diva is still one of the best dark reds out there, and another one I fancy myself in.

MAC Flat Out Fabulous

29c60cbc87ad9fa2f12e8ebbeac10ccc
Not me but the only pic I could find of this goddamn lipstick, via Pinterest

This is one I always forget about. I am sorry Flat Out Fabulous, for you are a very nice cool-toned fuchsia and you look so good with just a bit of mascara and my big old glasses. I won’t forget you again.

Milani Matte Lipstick in Passion

mlsn-66-color-statement-lipstick_matte-passion

I saw this on some gal on r/makeupaddiction, made a note on my phone, and bought it almost the minute I stepped off the plane in San Francisco last year. That’s how much I wanted this on my face. I love orangey reds!

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Backstage Bambi

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.49.35

I also love bright pinks! And this is SCREAMING pink, neither too blue nor too red. A well-deployed pink lip can look so cool, and again, this formula is fantastic.

Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in Hitch Hike

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 22.51.20

This is a new one, and I’m already reaching for it all the time which is a good sign. It’s a nude with a peachy/rusty edge, and a great alternative to the Tilbury one because TBH I do not buy a lot of nude lipsticks (boring) and when I do I put them to WORK.

So that’s it! What a nice thing to write. If you have any more questions about my favourite makeup items do ask, I’m quite at my leisure.

2 thoughts on “my 10 favourite lipsticks

  1. You are hugely adventurous with your lipsticks! I only bought my first one last year and it’s…. basically the same colour as my actual lips. The holy mortifying shame. I feel like I could do better but my lips are so dry they basically need lip balm 24/7 so unless I find a lipbalmy lipstick I don’t think I’ll ever jump on the bandwagon…

    I do love the look of them though! Double Dare is amazing on you.

    1. Ah thank you! I like trying out different shades but tbh I have neutral undertones in my skin so I find it easy to get colours that suit me. I think there are def options out there that are bright and moisturising!

Leave a Reply

